The City of Wagga Wagga knows that its growth is dependent on an economically vibrant region with strong State and Federal Government connections. Wagga Wagga takes seriously its role as the region's capital and is conscious of developng a collective regional approach to attracting investment in NSW.

The city encourages and fosters partnerships both at a government and private industry level.


Within Wagga

Wagga Wagga City Council has close working relationships with two large educational institutions to grow and develop resources in the region.

Memorandums of Understanding have been signed with Charles Sturt University, and TAFE NSW - Riverina Institute, to assist each organisation meet mutually beneficial objectives. A similar Memorandum of Understanding has also been signed with the Wagga Wagga Medical Specialists Recruitment and Retention Committee to work towards attracting even more medical specialists to the city.


Within the Region

Wagga Wagga was a key player behind the formation of the Riverina Eastern Regional Organisation of Councils (REROC), a voluntary association of 13 General Purpose Councils and two Water County Councils located in the eastern Riverina region of NSW. It covers an area in excess of 43,000 square kilometres and has a population of approximately 140,000.

Member Councils are aware of the need to work closely together to achieve greater efficiencies to serve the interests of people living in southern NSW as well as industries currently operating in this region or wishing to relocate.


Within the State

Wagga Wagga is a member of the Evocities project and has joined the other major inland cities of Albury, Armidale, Bathurst, Dubbo, Orange and Tamworth to target metropolitan markets to promote the advantages of living, working and investing in inland NSW.

(Evo is short for "energy, vision and opportunity").


Within Australia

Wagga Wagga City Council is represented on the Regional Development Australia Committee, an incorporated body supported primarily by the NSW Department of Industry and Investment and the Federal Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government. Their mission is to facilitate appropriate and effective regional development of the Riverina through a partnership approach involving key stakeholders.

Newsletter Sign up

Sign up here to receive Business Wagga’s Economic Pulse - business news and events
direct to your inbox.